Celebrating Volunteers

United Way of Alamance County believes that volunteers are the catalyst for change in our community. Recently, the Senior Citizen of the Year award was presented to Celo Faucette at the May Community Council meeting.

Celo has been involved in multiple Commissions and Committees in Alamance County.  His passion for making his community better is remarkable.  He has been a champion for the North Park community and an advocate for LINK Transit.


Jane Smith (John Robert Kernodle Senior Center), Hardin Watkins (Burlington City Manger), Celo Faucette (Senior Citizen of the Year), Jennifer Pulliam (Celo’s daughter), Kathy Hykes (Burlington City Council), Renee Ward (Burlington City Clerk)


Each year local nonprofits have the opportunity to nominate their volunteers to be recognized during Community Council. One local volunteer then moves on to be considered for the state award.

The Governor’s Medallion Award for Volunteer Service was implemented in 2006 to recognize the top 20-25 volunteers in the state.  We are pleased to announce that Alamance County had a winner, Betsey Savage, who was recently honored at the annual recognition ceremony on May 7, 2018 at The State Capitol in Raleigh.  Betsey was awarded a lifetime achievement award for her community changing initiatives in Alamance County, most recently with the Augustine Literacy Project, a one on one tutoring program for struggling readers.  Betsey is a dedicated and inspiring role model who puts service ahead of self and her contribution to our community is worthy of great praise.


Ruth Pruitt (United Way), Tammy Cobb (Elon University & NC Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service), Steve Ross (NC House of Representatives), Betsey Savage (Alamance County Medallion Award winner), Lawrence Conte (Principal, Harvey R. Newlin Elementary School), Kathy Hykes (Burlington City Council), Phillip Savage (Betsey’s husband)

Alamance County has had a winner for 8 of 13 years: 2006 – Crystal Sharpe; 2008 – Jack Sink; 2012 – Dixie Stafford; 2013 – F.D. Hornaday, III; 2014 – Linda Barron; 2016 – Barbara Roberts; 2017 – Marianela Melendez; 2018 – Betsey Savage.